2019 Dean James E. McLeod First-Year Writing Prize Winners Announced

Congratulations to Olivia Williams and Priyanka Iyer for being this year's recipients of the Dean James E. McLeod First-Year Writing Prize! 

Students were recognized for their exemplary research and writing at the Dean James E. McLeod First-Year Writing Prize Ceremony on September 12.

The McLeod Writing Prize was created to encourage first-year students in the College of Arts & Sciences to begin engaging in research in the early stages of their undergraduate careers; to understand that scholarship is a creative form of expression that can reach others in real and meaningful ways; and most importantly, by fully participating in the process of research and writing, to see themselves as scholars in the making. This year, the prize was extended to include McKelvey School of Engineering, Olin Business School, and Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts.

The 2019 recipients of the McLeod Writing Prize are Olivia Williams, from Arts & Sciences, for her essay “Sustenance Abuse: Anorexia, Bulimia, & Black Women,” and Priyanka Iyer, from Olin Business School, for her essay "Do It for the Culture."

Honorable mentions include Grace Myers, from Arts & Sciences, for her essay “Queer Complexities and the Failure of Biological Justification," and Catherine Yi Si, from Sam Fox, for her essay “Word View as World View: What Influences Code-Switching, and Does It Establish Trust?” Other students recognized as semi-finalists include Lili Barrett, Noah Slaughter, Sparkle Whitaker, Leah Witheiler, Pryce Yebesi, and Karter Tiemann.

Read The Ampersand article >>