Jewel Evans and Zoe Levin named 2020 recipients of McLeod Writing Prize

Congratulations to Jewel Evans and Zoe Levin for being this year's recipients of the Dean James E. McLeod First-Year Writing Prize! 

The McLeod Writing Prize was created to encourage first-year students to begin engaging in research in the early stages of their undergraduate careers; to understand that scholarship is a creative form of expression that can reach others in real and meaningful ways; and most importantly, by fully participating in the process of research and writing, to see themselves as scholars in the making. Two prizes are awarded each year; one to a student in the College of Arts & Sciences, and one to a student in McKelvey School of Engineering, Olin Business School, or Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts.

The 2020 recipients of the McLeod Writing Prize are Jewel Evans, from Arts & Sciences, for her essay “Commodifying Diversity: The Danger of Racial Capitalism on Student Growth in Higher Education,” and Zoe Levin, from McKelvey School of Engineering, for her essay "Cool Kids, Camp, and Keeping Calm: Taylor Swift’s Attempt to Address Homophobia."

Honorable mentions include Ronelle Williams, for her essay, “Lives on the Line: The Historical, Present, and Future Implications of Racial Disparities in Health Care” (Arts & Sciences), and Richard Xie, for his essay, “Campus Diversity: Chinese International Students and American Exceptionalism” (Olin Business School). Other students recognized as semi-finalists include Lexy Courneya, Ben Hirsch, Gabriela Martinez, Haley Rhodes, Sarah Rider, Alex Rubin, Tara Samson-Williams, Laura Wang, and Jamie Xu.

Related Articles: McKelvey School of Engineering - Levin wins Dean James E. McLeod First-Year Writing PrizeAnnouncing the winners of the Dean James E. McLeod First-Year Writing Prize